About Katherena Vermette

Katherena Vermette is a Métis writer from Treaty One territory, the heart of the Métis nation, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. Her first book, North End Love Songs (The Muses Company), won the Governor General’s Literary Award for Poetry. Her NFB short documentary, This River, won the Coup de Coeur at the Montreal First Peoples Festival and a Canadian Screen Award. Her first novel, The Break, is the winner of three Manitoba Book Awards and the First Novel Award, and it was a finalist for the Governor General’s Literary Award for Fiction, the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, and CBC Canada Reads. Source:
Katherena Vermette

Books & Awards

  • North End Love Songs (2012)  Governor General’s Literary Award for poetry (2013)
  • The Seven Teachings Stories (2015, children’s)
  • The Break (2016) First Novel Award (2016)
  • River Woman (2018)
  • The Girl and the Wolf (2019, children’s) 
  • The Strangers (2021) Atwood Gibson Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize for The Strangers 
  • A Girl Called Echo (2017) 4 vol. Graphic Novels


If you liked The Break, try…

  • Five Little Indians by Michelle Good
  • Probably Ruby by Lisa Bird-Wilson
  • Halfbreed by Maria Campbell
  • Heart Berries by Térèse Marie Mailhot
  • In Search of April Raintree by Beatrice Mosionier
  • Son of a Trickster by Eden Robinson
  • The Reason You Walk by Wab Kinew
  • Seven Fallen Feathers by Tanya Talaga
  • A Mind Spread Out on the Ground by Alicia Elliot
  • Life in the City of Dirty Water by Thomas Clayton-Muller
  • Birdie by Tracey Lindberg
  • Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien
  • Medicine Walk by Richard Wagamese
  • The Marrow Thieves by Cherie Dimaline
  • Under the Ribs of Death by John Marlyn
  • Sub Rosa by Amber Dawn
  • Ghost Lake by Nathan Niigan Noodin Adler

Check at your local library for other great reading suggestions!